Become a Patron

Asia Elects: Calendar

The table below considers national parliament, and presidential elections in Asian states and territories, including national parliament by-elections. It includes regional elections and some local elections where these are held on a national basis or involve a capital city. โ€œNational parliamentโ€ in bicameral systems refers to the lower house unless specified otherwise.

The tilde (~) indicates that the election will occur in or around that month and no election date has been set yet. If only a month is mentioned, the election will take place in the month, but no date has been set yet. Elections in states marked with asterisks (*) are not considered free or fair. National parliament and presidential elections, as well as regional elections in any federation and in unitary states with more than 40 million inhabitants, are covered live on our social media. Local elections are also covered in some cases, typically in capitals of first-level administrative divisions and in cities with a population larger than one million.

๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Iwate prefectural executive (governor) 3 September
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Iwate prefectural parliament 3 September
๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡พ Malaysia Pulai national parliament by-election 9 September
๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ป Maldives Presidential (first round) 9 September
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Yamagata City mayor 10 September
๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ญ Thailand Rayong-03 national parliament by-election 10 September
๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ป Maldives Presidential (second round) 30 September
๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ช United Arab Emirates* National parliament 7 October
๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฐ Pakistan Khyber Pakhtunkhwa provincial parliament 8 October
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Nagasaki 4th national parliament by-election 22 October
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Tokushima-Kochi (Upper House) national parliament by-election 22 October
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Miyagi prefectural parliament 22 October
๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฑ Israel Local and regional parliaments 31 October
๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฐ Pakistan National parliament (lower + upper house)
Balochistan regional parliament
National parliament
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Fukushima prefectural parliament 12 November
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Kochi prefectural executive (governor)
Kochi City mayor
26 November
๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡น Bhutan National parliament (first round) 30 November
๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ India Chhattisgarh state parliament
Madhya Pradesh state parliament
Mizoram state parliament
๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ India Rajasthan state parliament
Telangana state parliament
๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡พ Malaysia Kemaman national parliament by-election 2 December
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Fukui City mayor 3 December
๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ถ Iraq Anbar provincial parliament
Babil provincial parliament
Baghdad provincial parliament
Basra provincial parliament
Dhi provincial parliament
Qar provincial parliament
Diyala provincial parliament
Dohuk provincial parliament
Erbil provincial parliament
Karbala provincial parliament
Kirkuk provincial parliament
Maysan provincial parliament
Muthanna provincial parliament
Najaf provincial parliament
Nineveh provincial parliament
Qadisiyyah provincial parliament
Saladin provincial parliament
Sulaymaniyah provincial parliament
Wasit provincial parliament
18 December
๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡น Bhutan National parliament (second round) 9 January
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Otsu mayor 21 January
๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฉ Bangladesh National parliament January
๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฉ Indonesia Presidential
National parliament
14 February
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Kyoto City mayor 4 February
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Maebashi mayor 4 February
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ต North Korea* National parliament ~March
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ท South Korea National parliament 10 April
๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ India National parliament April
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Tokushima City mayor April
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Kumamoto prefectural executive (governor) June
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Okinawa prefectural parliament June
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Kagoshima prefectural executive (governor) July
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Tokyo prefectural executive (governor) July
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ต North Korea* Local ~July
๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฉ Indonesia Provincial parliaments
Regional parliaments
27 November
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Utsunomiya mayor November
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Tochigi prefectural executive (governor) December
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Kagoshima City mayor December
๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ญThailand Local ~December
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan National parliament (upper house) ~July
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan National parliament (lower house) by 29 October
๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡พ Malaysia Sabah regional parliament by December
๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡น Bhutan Local ~January
๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ญThailand Bangkok local presidential (gubernational) and parliament ~May
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ท South Korea Local ~June
๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ญ Bahrain* National parliament
Local parliaments
๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡พ Malaysia Malacca regional parliament by January
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ท South Korea Presidential 10 April
๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต Japan Local ~April
๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡พ Malaysia Sarawak regional parliament by April
๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ฑ Timor-Leste Presidential ~April
๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡พ Malaysia Johor regional parliament by May
๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ญThailand National parliament ~May
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ญ Cambodia* Local ~June
๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ India Presidential ~July
๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡พ Malaysia National parliament
Pahang regional parliament
Perak regional parliament
Perils regional parliament
by January
๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฉ Bangladesh Presidential (indirect) ~February
๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ณ China* Presidential (indirect) ~March
๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ฑ Timor-Leste National parliament ~May
๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ญ Cambodia* National parliament ~July
๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡พ Malaysia Kedah regional parliament
Kelantan regional parliament
Negeri Sembilan regional parliament
Penang regional parliament
Selangor regional parliament
Terengganu regional parliament
by April

Notes: Afghanistan and Brunei do not hold any elections.
National: The executive in Cambodia, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, and the United Arab Emirates is not elected. National parliament elections in China* are not direct. The national parliament in Saudi Arabia is not elected.
Local: Local (mayoral + parliament) election dates in Bangladesh vary by subnational entity.

Visit our electoral archive here